Spotlight: NHS Percussion Wins Silver Medal

Spotlight: NHS Percussion Wins Silver Medal
Posted on 05/09/2014

On Tuesday, May 6, 2014, the Norwalk Board of Education recognized the students and staff of the Norwalk High School Winter Percussion Ensemble. This team of dedicated musicians, plus their instructors, recently took home the Silver Medal at the 2014 Winter Guard International Competition in Dayton, Ohio.  

NHS Winter Percussion

Norwalk competed against a field of 44 other teams from throughout the United States. They took part in the Scholastic Open Percussion category, which represents the highest level of high school competition in the country.  

For those not familiar with it, indoor percussion marries elements of music performance, marching, and theater. These 32 musicians spent months learning and mastering a complex five and half minute show that combined marching with music. They consistently rose to the challenge by turning in outstanding performances throughout the season, and were ranked near the top of  national standings all season as a result. Despite a demanding schedule of practices and competitions, these student musicians are also required to maintain good grades in order to be part of this team.

The WGI Silver Medal award capped of a successful year for the Norwalk Marching Band overall. The musicians on the Winter Percussion team are also members of the marching band, which means that the they started working together starting last August during Band Camp.  In the fall, the Winter Percussion members were also part of the Norwalk High Marching Band, which also won First Place in the fall marching season in MAC Championship competition.

Congratulations NP! On behalf of the entire Norwalk Board of Education, we are proud of your accomplishments and wish you all the best in the future.

2014 Norwalk High Winter Percussion

CJ Askew


Maurguerite Mazza

Billy Benitez


Nigeal McBride

Troy Brannen


Spencer Neilsen

Kyle Brenn


Peter O'Connor

Maeve Bustell


Sarah O'Connor

Avery Collins


Troy Pivarnik

Paul Dilorio


Connor Prince

Dana Evans


Taijon Ragin

Duncan Fitton


Noah Ruffin

Gunnar Freding


Emma Spahr

Jack Gualigone


Sarah St. Surin

Gavin Halsey


Tyler Telesco

Marc Hill


Elveret Thomas

Jovan Joseph


Kaitlyn Turlis

Nate Lewis


Alex Wade

Jaysen Maraquin


Larry Weatherspoon