Coordinators/Contacts

SECTION 504 COORDINATORS

Under Section 504, each school district is responsible to designate a Section 504 Coordinator. The Superintendent shall designate a Section 504 Coordinator to coordinate the Board of Education's efforts to comply with Section 504. Currently, the District 504 Coordinator is:

Ralph Valenzisi
valenzisir@norwalkps.org
District 504 Coordinator
Norwalk Public Schools
125 East Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06852
203-854-4149

The District 504 Coordinator is responsible for:

Guiding teams to comply with the 504 process
Coordinating resources and materials necessary to comply with Section 504 plans
Assisting teams to understand the legal requirements of the 504 process
Providing staff and administration training as needed
Appointing Building Level Section 504 coordinators
Communicating district wide procedures to staff and parents
Developing a system of reviewing 504 plans
Insuring overall compliance with Section 504
Responding to parent complaints

Each school has a Building Level 504 coordinator.  The building principal is the Building Level Section 504 Coordinator for each school.  The Building Level Section 504 Coordinators are responsible for the following at the building level:

Guiding parents and students to access the 504 process
Ensuring timely and accurate completion and issuance of documentation of Section 504 meetings
Maintaining accurate and complete records of 504 Team meetings and related documentation
Coordinating and scheduling 504 meetings
Ensuring the proper composition of the 504 meetings
Guiding the 504 teams in compliance with Section 504
Ensuring that parents are provided with their procedural safeguards
Ensuring that all team members responsible for implementation of the 504 plan are aware of their responsibility for that plan
Coordinating the transition as a 504 student moves, as applicable, from one Norwalk school to another Norwalk school to ensure the smooth transfer of the student’s 504 information and plan from one school to another

The Building Level Section 504 Coordinator may delegate some of these responsibilities to either a guidance counselor, social worker or administrator in the building.  

The Building Level Coordinator will assign a case manager to each student found eligible under Section 504 and will assign responsibilities to that case manager, including certain daily management of the student’s 504 plan and scheduling of meetings.

The following are the Building Level Section 504 Coordinators:
BRIEN MCMAHON HIGH SCHOOL 
Scott Hurwitz,
Principal 

300 Highland Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06854
(203) 852-9488
hurwitzs@norwalkps.org

NORWALK PATHWAYS ACADEMY 
Dr. Marie Allen,
Principal 

350 Main Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2820
allenm@norwalkps.org
NORWALK HIGH SCHOOL
Reginald Roberts,
Principal 
23 Calvin Murphy Drive
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 838-4481
robertsrs@norwalkps.org 



NORWALK EARLY CHILDHOOD CENTER
Kristen Mosher,
Director
11 Allen Road
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 945-0320
mosherk@norwalkps.org
NATHAN HALE MIDDLE SCHOOL
Dr. Albert Sackey,
Principal 
176 Strawberry Hill Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2910
sackeya@norwalkps.org  
PONUS RIDGE MIDDLE SCHOOL
Dr. Damon Lewis,
Principal 
21 Hunters Lane
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 847-3557
lewisd@norwalkps.org  
ROTON MIDDLE
SCHOOL
Joseph Vellucci,
Principal 
201 Highland Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06854
(203) 899-2930
velluccij@norwalkps.org  
WEST ROCKS MIDDLE SCHOOL
Dr. Lynne Moore,
Principal 
81 West Rocks Road
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2970
moorel@norwalkps.org 
BROOKSIDE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Sandra Faioes,
Principal 
382 Highland Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06854
(203) 899-2830
faioess@norwalkps.org
COLUMBUS MAGNET SCHOOL
Medard Thomas,
Principal 
46 Concord Street
Norwalk, CT 06854
(203) 899-2840
thomasm@norwalkps.org
CRANBURY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Kristin Goldstein,
Principal 
10 Knowalot Lane
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 846-3600
goldsteink@norwalkps.org
FOX RUN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
James Martinez,
Principal 
228 Fillow Street
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 899-2860
martinezj@norwalkps.org
JEFFERSON SCIENCE MAGNET SCHOOL
Nicholas Brophy,
Principal 
75 Van Buren Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 899-2870
brophyn@norwalkps.org
KENDALL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Zakiyyah Baker,
Principal 
57 Fillow Street
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 899-2880
bakerz@norwalkps.org
MARVIN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Sue-Ellen O'Shea,
Principal 
15 Calf Pasture Beach Road
Norwalk, CT 06855
(203) 899-2880
osheas@norwalkps.org
NARAMAKE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Jane Wilkins,
Principal 
16 King Street
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2900
wilkinsj@norwalkps.org
ROWAYTON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Joe Rodriguez,
Principal Iterim
1 Roton Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06853
(203) 899-2940
rodriguezj@norwalkps.org
SILVERMINE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Ivette Ellis,
Principal 
157 Perry Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 899-2950
ellisi@norwalkps.org
TRACEY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Theresa Rangel,
Principal
20 Camp Street
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2960
rangelt@norwalkps.org
WOLFPIT ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
Dr. Jennifer Masone,
Principal
1 Starlight Drive
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2980
@norwalkps.org

NATHAN HALE MIDDLE SCHOOL
Dr. Albert Sackey,
Principal 
176 Strawberry Hill Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2910
sackeya@norwalkps.org 
NATHAN HALE MIDDLE SCHOOL
Dr. Albert Sackey,
Principal 
176 Strawberry Hill Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06851
(203) 899-2910
sackeya@norwalkps.org