2020-21 NPS School Start Times

Healthier School Start Times for 2020-21

In September 2019, the Norwalk Board of Education approved a change in school start times beginning with the 2020-21 school year. 

The upcoming shift in school start times for Norwalk Public Schools:  

  • Aligns with sleep study research by offering a full hour of extra time in the morning.
  • Does not compromise the quality of athletics, arts and other afternoon programs.
  • Does not have a major impact on start times for other grade levels. There is no change to the current middle school start time of 8:15 am. No elementary school will begin before 8 am and most elementary schools will maintain their 2019-20 schedule.  

The full list of school start times for 2020-21 is below.

8:00 am – 2:35 pm   
Jefferson Elementary School
Kendall Elementary School 
Marvin Elementary School
Naramake Elementary School

8:15 am – 2:50 pm
Nathan Hale Middle School
Ponus Ridge STEAM Academy
Roton Middle School
West Rocks Middle School 

8:30 am – 3:15 pm
Brien McMahon High School
Center for Global Studies
Norwalk High School
P-TECH Norwalk

8:50 am – 3:25 pm
Brookside Elementary School
Tracey Magnet School

9:00 am – 3:30 pm           
Norwalk Early Childhood Center

9:15 am – 3:50 pm     
Columbus K-8 Magnet School
Cranbury Elementary School
Fox Run Elementary
Rowayton Elementary School
Silvermine Dual Language Magnet School
Wolfpit Elementary School